Cowskin Prairie Chapter
Baxter Springs, Kansas - United Daughters of the Confederacy
Chapter Where No Division #2702
HomeJoin UsHistoryBaxter
If you have questions about this chapter website, please contact our webmaster.
Visit Sister Kansas Chapter - Ladies of the Plains


Joyce Mae Gibson
(August 20, 1944 - June 17, 2016)
Organizing Member
Scrapbook Chair 2014-2016

Jedediah Hotchkiss, 2nd Corp - Army of North Virginia

Click Here for Legacy
Click Here for Memorial Program

Grove Sun Celebrating - Remembering Clippings
Basic Clipping

Memorials from members
Fredrea Cook & Chloe Goff

Joyce with her "Historic Sailboat Bridge" book at the 2010 Cowskin Prairie Book Festival
Copyright 2010, Carrie Ann Cook

2702 assembled members at 2015 annual meeting
2015 annual meeting at the Baxter Springs Historical Museum (l-r) Joyce and Jean

Photo Courtesy of and Copyright 2015 - Baxter Springs Heritage Museum Staff

Joyce was always behind her camera, so a bit "camera shy" by trade. She will be sorely missed, but know all her worries are over. Below is a photo of Sherry, but see Joyce also capturing the moment in the left corner.

Joyce receiving the General Award for best 2015 Chapter Scrapbook at the Awards Dinner

Photo copyright 2015 - Jim Rollins

(l-r): Joyce, Josh, and Barbara during ceremony
Confederate Memorial Day 2015 - Butler Cemetery

Photos copyright 2015 - Rick Fleming

(l-r): Kay, Barbara and Joyce during group photos.
Top of Page

Click here for more information about joining our chapter.
Feel free to link to this page or add us to your favorites.
The presence of links to outside websites does not imply endorsement, approval, or concurrence by the United Daughters of the Confederacy on any level.
Copyright © All rights reserved
Cowskin Prairie 2702, CWND
The name "United Daughters of the Confederacy" is a registered trademark of the General Organization and may not be used outside the Organization without the express written consent of the United Daughters of the Confederacy. The official UDC Insignia is a registered trademark of the General Organization and may not be used without the consent of the President General.